Canadian clean sweep for the 2017 Rocha Medal! Winner: Bryan Tatone (Univ. Toronto); runners-up: Robert Bewick (Univ. Toronto); Gabriel Walton (Queen’s Univ.).  ISRM news release here.

The ISRM Congress 2015 was a successful event for all involved.  Relive the conference with the offical photo album at

May 5, 2014: Shale and Rock Mechanics Symposium added to ISRM Congress 2015.
Click here for more information

John Franklin Dedication Ceremony – University of Waterloo, Sunday May 4th.  Click here for details.

CARMA News – Click here for our May 2013 Newsletter.

DFNE 2014 – International Conference on Discrete Fracture Network Engineering

CARMA is sponsoring the 1st International Conference in Discrete Fracture Network Engineering, to be held in Vancouver, October 19-24, 2014.  For more details visit

RockEng 2012 – 21st Canadian Rock Mechanics Symposium

RockEng12, the 21st Canadian Rock Mechanics Symposium, was held May 5 – 9, 2012 in Edmonton, Alberta. The theme was Rock Engineering for Natural Resources and the conference attracted 140 delegates, of which 60 gave oral presentations on topics ranging from rock mechanics and rock engineering in underground and open-pit mining, oil and gas development, hydraulic fracture, carbon sequestration, hydrothermal energy and many others.  In addition, there were 12 student poster presentations, 4 plenary speakers and four well-attended short courses given before the conference.

For Proceedings Login to the Member’s Area